Wednesday, December 7, 2011

New Titles

Butler, Georgia Anne. Of the Wing: A Trilogy (Book 1: The Legend Awakes; Book 2: The Ivory-billed Obsession). 2010 and 2011. Pinchey House. Paperback: 208 and 241 pages. Price: $7.99 U.S.

SUMMARY: Of the Wing is a trilogy that follows Claire and her friend Victor through birding adventures in the woodlands of Pennsylvania (book 1) to the bayous of Arkansas (book 2) and finally to the hills and lakes of Ireland (book 3).
Description of Book 1:
     Claire Belle hears like an owl, sees like a hawk, and draws birds to her in some inexplicable way. Is it magic? Or some special power? Claire keeps her ability secret, afraid that sharing it will somehow break the spell. But can that spell be broken violently? A ruthless man seeks to kill a local, legendary Red-tailed Hawk—a raptor to which Claire is devoted and bound, and who holds the answers to her questions.
Description of Book 2:
     Birds repeatedly call an urgent message to twelve-year-old Claire Belle: Hurry! But she isn’t listening. The avid birder is preoccupied with a famous ornithologist, back from another failed effort to find the fabled Ivory-billed Woodpecker. Claire meets Robert Crawley at his Pennsylvania retreat, revealing to him her mysterious appeal to birds. Promising to attract the Ivory-bill, she earns a canoe expedition for herself and friends to the muddy bayous of Arkansas. But the bottomland forest conceals something more than the reclusive woodpecker, something dangerous. And though Claire leaves Pennsylvania, the message of the birds follows her.
RECOMMENDATION: For ages 9 and up. You can order the books from this website:

No comments:

Post a Comment